Post-Harvest Tobacco Processing. Drying and Fermentation

Tobacco leaves removed from the field are unsuitable for processing into smoking products by themselves, since they lack the necessary technological properties.  Before the collected from the field tobacco is turned into a suitable raw material for manufacturing smoking products, its leaves must undergo a series of post-harvest processes consisting of the main sequential technological processes, first of all drying and fermentation.

The main purpose of this treatment is not only to preserve the quality indicators of the raw materials formed during growth and development of tobacco plants on-field, but also to enhance them by strengthening useful features and eliminating negative ones. Thanks to the competent application of technological post-harvest methods, it is possible to significantly improve the quality of tobacco leaves; conversely, a thoughtless, unprofessional approach in this matter could even destroy them completely.

Drying is the most important stage of the post-harvest processing of tobacco. Drying provides some qualities to the raw material: Color and partly taste and aroma are determined; resistance to mold increases.

Our Company uses heat drying processing of tobacco; this excludes direct contact of fuel combustion products with raw materials, which are produced in special isolated rooms. At the same time, the temperature is increased using hot air. This method perfectly preserves the color of tobacco leaves and various types of sugars, reduces the amount of tar and nicotine, as well as the acidity of the product.

After drying, the tobacco leaf undergoes fermentation – this is the main mystery and the key technological process, during which the raw material acquires unique smoking properties.

Fermentation is a chemical reaction through which, under the influence of humidity and temperature, organic substances are transformed into inorganic ones, forming new compounds. Fermentation of tobacco begins with a lack of fresh air, that is, the leaves are suffocated in their own fumes, humidity and temperature increase.

The fermentation process is the final stage in the post-harvest processing of tobacco. The nicotine and resins content decreases, new aromatic and flavoring compounds are formed, taste becomes softer, and aroma is enhanced. Fermented tobacco is suitable for long-term storage, and it can be used for making smokable products.

Послеуборочная обработка табака. Сушка и ферментация

Сами по себе листья табака, убранные с поля, непригодны для переработки в курительные изделия, так как они не обладают необходимыми технологическими свойствами.  Прежде чем табак, собранный с поля, превратится в годное для переработки в курительные изделия сырье, его  листья  должны пройти комплекс послеуборочной обработки, состоящий из основных последовательных технологических процессов, прежде всего — сушки и ферментации.

Главной целью этой обработки является не только сохранение тех показателей качества сырья, которые сформировались в процессе роста и развития табачного растения в поле, но и преумножение их путем усиления полезных признаков и устранения вредных. За счет грамотного применения технологических приемов послеуборочной обработки можно значительно повысить качество выращенных табачных листьев и, наоборот, при бездумном, непрофессиональном подходе к этому делу — ухудшить его, и даже полностью погубить.

Сушка — наиболее важный этап послеуборочной обработки табака. При сушке формируется качество сырья: определяется цвет, частично его вкусовые и ароматические свойства, повышается устойчивость к плесневению.

На нашем предприятии используется тепловая сушка —  обработка табака, исключающая прямой контакт продуктов сгорания топлива с сырьём, которая производится в специальных изолированных помещениях. При этом температуру специально увеличивают горячим воздухом. Данный метод прекрасно сохраняется цвет табачных листьев,  различные виды сахаров, уменьшает количество смол и никотина, также снижает кислотность продукта.

После сушки табачный лист подвергается ферментации – это главное таинство и главный технологический процесс, в ходе которого сырьё приобретает уникальные курительные свойства.

Ферментация — это химическая реакция, в ходе которой под воздействием влажности и температуры органические вещества превращаются в неорганические, образуя новые соединения. Ферментация табака начинается за счет отсутствия свежего воздуха, то есть листья задыхаются в собственных испарениях, повышается влажность и температура.

Процесс ферментации является завершающей стадией в послеуборочной обработке табака. Содержание никотина и смол понижается, образуются новые ароматические и вкусовые соединения, вкус становится мягче, а аромат усиливается. Отферментированный табак пригоден для длительного хранения, и его можно использовать для приготовления курительных изделий.